does the distance between your pickups make a difference to the sound?

the distance on my LP its about 6 cm and the one on my RG blueprints are 4cm , would this effect the sound in anyway?.

sorry if this seems a stupid question, just that im new to customising and am trying to learn and get everthing right.
EPIPHONE LES PAUL
IBANEZ S SERIES CUSTOM
VOX AD30VT
the closer the pickup is to the string the higher it's output.. but too close will cause feedback, shrill sound and string pull
The gear is in the profile.
You know you want to take a look

╠═══════╬═══════╣
Strat-mangling, echo-eating janglefan σƒ τλε τρπ βπστλεπλσσδ

╠═══════╬═══════╣
I wouldn't imagine the distance between the pickups would make "too" much of a difference, But the two guitars you mentioned are of different scales(24 3/4, Vs. 25 1/2) so maybe measure the distance from the bridge to the pickup and see what the difference is.(if any)
Peace
Prong =
The proportion of the scale length a pup is from the bride effects which harmonics the pup picks up.

If the node of a particular harmonic is right above a pup, it will not be picked up by that pup. If both pups get the same harmonic, you may get it clearly if the pups combine the signal so it adds the waves together, or it could be almost or completely cancelled if the waves from each pup cancel each other out.

The best way to work it out is to look at lots of guitars with the scale length you are using, and try to find the most common distances from the bridge fro each pup.

A lot will be very similar, if not the same. If you find that pup combination of lengths lets you get a good harmonic reponse (just play a load of harmonics to see) and use it if it does.
Warwick freak of the Bass Militia. PM Nutter_101 to join

Quote by elliott FTW
Damn you and Warwickyness

Quote by ScottB
Quote by CLIFF_BURTON
gm jack knows everything
+1