Well I have recently pick up my first guitar and started playing, but I don't know where to start. All I can play are the songs which need to be played one note at a time, and usallay I play only the intro. So my question is where do I start. Should I just keep doing what I have been doing or should I get lessons ( I want to be self taught). Also should in your opinion what is easier to lear. Chords or One note at a time (Whatever thats called). And where did you start?
Learn the chords to the song you can only play the intro to. It'll help to remember chords for future references if you just learn songs. Songs are usually an easy way to learn everything, cause some songs a lot of songs will have different techniques which you can pick up when you're ready.

Scales should be around the top of that list aswell, so that you can learn what the notes sound like and their relationship with eachother so you may improvnise in the near future for jamming etc etc
one thing that helped me starting out was the intro to "stairway to heaven". the intro to that song was good practice for chord changes and single note patterns(for me anyway). try that or similar songs and practice until you can play it smoothly. find a song just outside your playing ability and work on it. doesn't really matter what genre it is(maybe not shred).
guitars: G&L Legacy USA, Peavey Rotor EXP, Squier affinity strat.

amps: Peavey Bandit 112

Effects: DF-7 distortion factory, Crybaby wah(gcb-95)
you know, i don't mean to be rude (most of the time) but people like you shouldn't pick up a guitar...if you just play to get girls - **** off, seriously, we don't need you here
me and numerous other people that call themselves guitarists play because of the love for the instrument, the music, the passion, jimi hendrix, and all that
if you play to get girls all that gets lost....

i hope you fail...

Whodicted

Quote by stevo_epi_SG_wo
france is laaaaame