Page 1 of 6
Okay, so i'm new to pedal building. I'm not a total idiot when it comes to electronics and know roughly what i'm working with, but this will be my first time actually building a pedal and I could do with some helping hands along the way

So I decided on the Dallas Rangemaster: http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/diagrams/geb_rm_sc_pp.gif

But a slightly modded version. I'm making it with a NPN Transistor and negative ground so I can use it on the same power supply as my other pedals. I'm using a reverse-bias germanium diode in there; it's reverse-biased which prevents any effects temperature have on the germanium transistor, as they're known for this side-effect, even though I made sure to get a heatsink-equipped transistor. I'm using a 1M resistor at the input and output sections to prevent 'popping' with bypass. I'm also using metal film resistors to cut down on noise, and other various high quality components.

It shall be called the Ganja Booster.

C'EST FINIT!

Finished it all off with my new soldering iron today, works fine. One problem though - It's a bit harsh. I dunno why this is - maybe the transistor isn't a particularly nice one - I'm wanting to do a few more mods to it to change the sound a bit whatever is wrong with it. It's just a bit harsh, imagine like a Boss Metal Zone but with a lot less gain and a lot more clarity. Final pics in a bit.