Well Im just starting out on acoustic and I just got a job so I'm savign for my first guitar. I dont want crap so im going to save all summer with ym job and hopefully get a nice guitar. Since Its my first I dont want to pay more than 650$ so what can I get for under 650$ thats great for beginners and will let me learn and play on it for a while?
My gear:
-OLP MM2
-OLP practice amp 10w
-Ernie Ball Hybrid Slinky Strings
-1.14 Everly Star Picks
For that kind of money you can get alot. I would say, just get a western guitar that you find good looking and plays good. For about 400$ there are quite some good guitars.
I would set the bar lower. Since it's your first guitar, you'll wanna go cheap IMO because A) In case you dont like it that much, you wont be out a ton of money, and B) When you're first starting out, your equipment isn't gonna make a huge difference in your sound. I'm not saying get plywood or somthing dirt cheap like that, but keep it in the $120 - $190 range. Theres a lot of quality in that price range, and you can use the left over cash to get some extras (guitar bag, strap, picks (you'll lose a lot of those, buy more then a few), spare packs of strings (I recommend A'ddagio), tuner, string winder, etc).

IMO you'd be better off going cheap, getting your basic stuff, and getting about 6 months to a year of playing under your belt. Then, not only will you better appriciate the tones you get out of a higher quality instrument, but you'll also know what you want in a guitar and you'll be better able to make a decision you'll be happy with.
Last edited by Garou1911 at Jul 8, 2007,
Hell no Garou! The 190 range won't get you a decent plywood guitar let alone a solid top. Go for a 300$ dolar range and check out the sticky, some very nice beginner guitars there.