Ive never really looked into them, so can someone tell me what the advantages and disadvantages of them are compared to having a fretted bass? thanks people!
Quote by Deliriumbassist
dammit, ur in Essex, that's not good to me
They have a tone more like an upright bass.

Gear:
Fender Standard Jazz Bass
Artec Matrix Pedal Tuner
BBE Optostomp
Boss GEB 7
EHX NYC Big Muff
Ashdown MAG C410T-300
Torque T100BX
GAS-ing for:
Boss SYB5
Behringer Intelligate IG9
Advantage - Unique tone
Disadvantage - No margin for error with the left hand, slightly off where the note should be played and in a band situation it can sound awful.
Founder of Jaco society

[22:08:23] <Confusius> I wish I was a bassist
[22:08:26] <Confusius> you fuckers look cool

Want to know how to play bass in jazz? Read this.
I have a 5-string fretless music man stingray, and I would die before I'd let something bad happen to it.

It just sounds perfect, all the time.
Electrolytes Smell Like Semen...
Here's the skinny on a fretless -

The fretboard takes some getting used to - the absence of frets means a seemingly larger, longer space in which to play. There is ZERO room for error with the fret hand, as the above poster mentioned - it will sound HORRID if you're a miniscule amount too far off the note where the 'fret' would be. Takes some real getting used to.