Hey I'm looking to buy my first tube amp after spending three years with my Marshall MG15CD. I currently have just a zoom G2.1U pedal which kinda makes up for some of crappy quality of that amp. I have a few queries and despite playing on/off for about 4 years, I have to admit I am a total Noob when it comes to effects set ups!

- I had my eye on the Marshall DSL 401 Combo, since it's about the best amp i can find in my price range. (I live in Ireland, where everything is WAY more expensive than USA from what I can gather from online). I play mostly rock/alternative style music. Is this amp worth the money? What other alternatives should I be looking it in that price range/style?

- What should I do with my Zoom pedal? I never used the crunch channel on the MG amp, so i'm not really used to dealing with Amp effects etc... Should I ditch it in favour of other individual pedals used in conjunction with the amp effects? (This question mightn't even make sense... As i said i really haven't a clue how Amp effects work in conjunction with pedals! If someone could fill me in that'd be great!)

- If there's a thread about pedal & Amp set up advice that covers most of this, could someone point me towards it? Thanks!

Thanks in advance,
A Noob in Distress.
"You shank my jenga ship!" - Homsar
Well I have been playing at home til now, but my i've recently joined a band, which was one of the reasons for deciding to get a bigger amp. That's another thing, is the 40W Combo big enough to bring along to smallish gigs? Thanks!
Quote by Johnny G
Well I have been playing at home til now, but my i've recently joined a band, which was one of the reasons for deciding to get a bigger amp. That's another thing, is the 40W Combo big enough to bring along to smallish gigs? Thanks!

It's more than big enough, you'll be fine

If the DSL has an effects loop you could put the zoom pedal through that, bypass the amp models and use the modulation effects and such.
A dwarf might hear you. What then?