Hello UG,

I've been playing for about 6 years, and am currently saving up to buy myself a top-end guitar, particularly if all goes well with my band and we meet with a bit of luck and success. Here's what I'm looking for:

- Double cutaway.
- Light if possible.
- Mahogany with some kind of maple cap.
- Carved top.
- Warm tone, but not too warm - I still want it to be aggressive, crunchy and fat sounding.
- Not really a fan of bitey treble/mids.
- Fat bass response so lots of crunch and chunk on palm muting.
- Smooth, fast neck, but not too thin - I have reasonably large hands so I need to be able to feel the neck in my hand, but obviously not too fat.
- Dual humbucker.

Any suggestions? Thanks. Any more questions, ask 'em!

What sort of music do you play, and with what amp?
The Laney Thread are big and clever. No exceptions.
Lightweight mahogany guitar. Oxymoron.

Looks like you might want a Gibson Les Paul Standard or Custom.
Quote by bakk
Hi,
I have been pickin' up some Arabic radio signal things. Every time I turn up my Amp, this crazy Imam starts messing up my chords.

Proud owner of a 1987 Kramer Baretta I w/ spider Guitart.
Oh yes, of course, sorry. I play hard rock/alternative. With my band, it's sort of punk, but very hard and aggressive, lots of palm-muted chugging riffs, almost Metallica-esque. I suppose a good comparison would be early Thrice only without screaming?

But yes, most stuff I play is punk, hardcore, and some metal.

At the moment I have an ENGL Screamer amplifier.
ESP Horizon is what you want mate. Check thomann.de they're usually pretty good on prices.

You wont get a standard Gibby LP for that in this country.

link

that + EMGs = oooh. it has a mahogany body, the spec on that site is wrong for some reason.

or if you want a maple cap, check musik-schmidt.de

they have more of a choice of stuff like that, and they're still pretty reasonable on the prices.
Last edited by cheames at Jul 14, 2007,