OK, so I've been playing for about a year now and my current amp is Line 6 Spider III 30watt, I know it sucks, but when I bought it I hardly knew what I was getting myself into and it sounded nice. Now that I'm more experienced I want a better metal sound out of my playing which is impossible with such a crappy amp. I've looked around the forums and I fully realize that if I want to get a particular band's sound I need to get the same amp as they have, or at least of the same series/company. The problem is I'm a college student and live on campus. Big amps are not allowed and half the time I'm forced to play with headphones on because of the time of the day I can practice or a roommate is trying to study/sleep, and I don't want to be an ass.

So my question to you guys is this: should I get a distortion pedal to get that crunchy metal sound I'm looking for or should I look into buying a better amp? Please don't suggest anything over 50 watt. Even with 30 watt amp I hardly go above 3 on volume knob. And if a distortion pedal will be enough to please my appetite for destructive sound then what brand should I look into?

If it helps I play a lot of metallica, megadeth, lamb of god, and pantera.

My guitar is Schecter C-1 Hellraiser FR with EMG's 81/85 that I bought a month ago.

Thanks in advance, and please, no immature/pointless responses... I'm asking a serious question here.
A distortion pedal in kinda redundant what with built in effects that the spider has. For a small amp that does it's job I'd say a roland cube. Now that you'd need a pedal.
Gear
Custom Fender Strat
Oscar Schmidt Acoustic
VK 112
Epi VJ
EHX Holy Grail
Ibanez DE7 Delay
Modded Tubescreamer TS7 -> TS-808
Strat Knockoff
Mesa? the 5:50 express is a 50 watt and a 5 watt tube combined. i think it gets enough gain for ur music. it's not cheap though. cuz i don't think i saw a budget there...

if not, yes. roland cube.
Call me "Shot".

ShotRod Guitar Works

Custom Hand-wired Amplifiers and Effect Pedals.