Ok, so I've been thinking lately that instead of buying a footswitch to switch between channels on my 5150, I might just buy a Valve Junior and get an A/B switch to switch between my 5150 for distortion and VJ for cleans. Since I've never played a tube amp lower than 30 watts, would the VJ be loud enough? Obviously I'll have it miced at gigs, but will it be loud enough to be heard over drums at practices?

My second question is, I've never used an A/B switch before, is there any lag involved in switching between amps that I should know about? Recommendations on what one to get would be awesome.

Also, if I wanted to use my 4x12 on both of my amps, is that possible, or would I have to use the VJ on my 4x12 and just use the 2 speakers on my 5150?
Quote by Dave_Mc
I've had tube amps for a while now, but never actually had any go down on me
Quote by jj1565
maybe you're not saying the right things? an amp likes to know you care.

www.SanctityStudios.com
Quote by triviumjunkie
i played a 30 watt mashall and with it all the way up it still wasnt loud enough

What kind of marshall?
Quote by triviumjunkie
i played a 30 watt mashall and with it all the way up it still wasnt loud enough

A Tube amp or Solid State? Because 30 watts Tube is loud...
Quote by Dave_Mc
Quote by jj1565

www.SanctityStudios.com
The VJ is NOT the amp you want to look at for cleans. It'll start to OD if you get the volume up to any sort of gigging level.
A dwarf might hear you. What then?

My Music
Quote by timi_hendrix
The VJ is NOT the amp you want to look at for cleans. It'll start to OD if you get the volume up to any sort of gigging level.

How much does it OD? All the sound clips I've heard of it seem pretty mellow.

What other amp would you reccommend instead then? Preferably pretty cheap...
Quote by Dave_Mc
Quote by jj1565

www.SanctityStudios.com
Quote by MatrixClaw
How much does it OD? All the sound clips I've heard of it seem pretty mellow.