Im a bit new to these sort of things, and this may be a n00bish question, but -deep breath- here it is.

Can an Amp head operate with out a cabinet? I mean like could you still hear it?
and say I buy one...could I plug it into my Micro Cube and play it?

thank you for your help in advance
BACK LIKE A HEART ATTACK
NO, a head can not operate without a cabinet, and if you turn it on without speakers attached, you will damage the amp. I would not recommend plugging it into a microcube, since that would most likely blow out the speaker. You need to match the ohms and wattage that the amp puts out to a proper speaker cabinet. What head is it, and did you buy it yet?
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
you wouldn't hear it, and you could blow it out if you play into it, depending on what kind it is. and you couldnt plug it to the cube and hear it but you could probly plug the cube into a cabnet and that would work
ESP Custom Shop 40th Anniversary Eclipse
ESP Standard Eclipse-II
Ibanez AF85VLS
no its not actually possible trust me ive tried

the only way you could get your amp head to play through cube is if you bypassed the distortion on the cube and basically just used the cube as a temporary speaker and if you try to do that id be careful because i guarantee that unless somehow your cube's ohms and your heads ohms match up, your going to completely blow the speaker of the cube

o ya and by the way i would be VERY careful because when i tried to do the same thing you are doing with my jcm 900 head plugged into my old 15 watt crate, i blew one of the billion fuses in the jcm 900 and it took almost a week to get it fixed. trust me it was a pain when i finally got my cabinet and plugged my new halfstack in only to find that i couldnt play it