i need a backup guitar to tune down and am wondering if it would be worth it to upgrade

i have an epiphone les paul special and i paid about 100 for it used

the upgrades i want to do are:
replace tuners
replace both pick-ups
take finish off neck (taking Zakk Wylde's advice of grabbing some naked wood)

keep in mind that i have no pickup soldering experience at all and to get pickups installed it was going to cost between 50-100 dollars

so would i be worth it or should i just get a new guitar and if i should what do you recomend (my budget for upgrades or a new guitar is about 300 dollars but i could go a bit over if i had too)

thanks
tuners are like 30 to 60 dollars plus good pickups can be like 50 to 140 dollars per pickup so dor tuning low you should by an inexpensive jackson, ibanez, or esp ltd
i was thinking about that so what guitars do you guys recomend

i like the les paul body style and i found this brand called aria at my local guitar store selling a les paul knock-off for 250 and it played pretty decently
but really i would settle for an decent guitar under 300 with H-H that i can tune down (preferable w/o a whammy ala fender style)
Considering Epiphone Les Pauls vary in quality possibly more than any other guitar in the existance of guitars (they go from being complete and utter crap to one that has been professionally appraised and stated to be about as close to the real thing as anything can get -- like mine), your situation here essentially depends on the quality of your epiphone. Epiphones are certainly not $100 guitars (despite what some of the more biased members here would have you believe), and if you have a quality epiphone, I'd say work on that one as opposed to spending more money to buy a new one.