I have had an electric guitar for about 2 years now, and have claimed that yeah, "I play guitar" Which is true. Only I suck. I took lessons for a couple months but didn't really pay attention or practice and soak stuff in. I want to teach myself to play and was wondering where to start, and I would appreciate some pretty detailed steps. I have heard to learn theory and scales but thats about it. So any tips would be great, thanks.
well i was completely self taught for a year but i would just teach myself songs i like step by step so i would have something that i could work towards
anyways good luck
Welcome To The End My Friend, The Sky Has Opened
UG has a bunch of online lessons you can check out. u should hav paid attention when u took lessons. u paid 4 them. its like skipping classes in college, u paid 4 them.
make yourself a practice routine you can do everyday. you can be creative and make your own by figuring what your weaknesses are or you could look online for resources (books, youtube, UG, etc.). theres a guy whose name is "justinsandercoe" on youtube who has a lot of useful practice drills.

practice everything slowly. i know its cliched but it will really help out. make part of your practice purely technical/mechanical...forget about timing and rhythm...just focus on getting your fingers in the correct position first (fingers on their tips and right behind the frets). make sure when you're doing this your fingers are loose and relaxed. when everything looks good then you can tighten up and play that note or chord. when finished loosen up again and get into the next position you need to play.