Hey all, I'm going to be getting my first electric guitar sometime (hopefully) soon, and I was wondering what kind of guitar and amp I should get

I've been playing my acoustic guitar for a year now, so I'm not a complete noob. I'm looking for a guitar that's not aimed for beginner's only. I'd like a guitar that would be playable by semi-intermediate players I suppose.

Price Range: Roughly around $300 tops, maybe a bit more (for guitar)
Preferred Music Style: More Heavy Metal + Rock, but also being able to play some softer tunes if needed would be nice too :P

The guitar brands I'm interested in right now are ESP and Deans because I've heard that they are good, but I don't know much about other brands and would be open to hearing suggestions of other brands

I've looked through the TomLee website (I live in Canada), and currently the ESP F-50 has caught my attention. It's priced as $298.48. Would this be a good guitar to get? I'm also going to visit local Long and Mcqaude stores to see what guitars they have as well (but having certain guitars in mind would help)

For an amp, I don't really need a very loud amp, since I'm going to be playing at home mostly. Right now the Line 6 Spider III 15W amp looks like it's pretty good. It is priced at $138.66. But is the 15W sufficient for practicing with a band? The Line 6 Spider III 30W amp is priced at $250.89... way more expensive -_-

So yeah, do you have any suggestions for other guitars or amps that I could get?
Last edited by ZeronX at Jul 23, 2007,
Schecter! (omen 6?)
jackson and ibanez too.

A nice amp is more important than a good guitar. The line 6 is ok, check out some randalls maybe. Have a browse through www.musiciansfriend.com to get an idea of what is around. Don.t allways rely on their reviews though, some people expect $3000 quality from a $200 amp.
^agree with the ibanez.
i think you might be able to get an RG for 300, might be a little bit more.