When ever I read these forums and pretty much anywhere else that talks of our favorite low-tuned instrument, I always read "bass" as:

Because thats how you would pronounce it if English followed the rules it keeps making up. But no! I have to sound like an idiot in my own head when reading and constantly be on my guard in the real world so I don't start talking about fish.

**** English.
Because English has no strict pronunciation rules, the same set of letters can have loads of different pronunciations.
Founder of Jaco society

[22:08:23] <Confusius> I wish I was a bassist
[22:08:26] <Confusius> you fuckers look cool

Want to know how to play bass in jazz? Read this.
Quote by sinan90
Because English has no strict pronunciation rules, the same set of letters can have loads of different pronunciations.

Well yea, I know why its pronounced differently, but why is it pronounced differently? Why not just SPELL IT like you say it...
Quote by NorseGodofRock
I have to sound like an idiot in my own head

And had you not brought this up, no one would know you think you sound like an idiot.
Quote by Duane_Allman
Your gayer than me, and thats pretty gay.
Quote by Twist of fate
If there's blood on the field, play ball.
[center]
The
e|--3---0---0--|
B|--0---1---0--|
G|--0---2---1--|
D|--0---2---2--|
A|--2---0---2--|
E|--3---x---0--|
You just lost.[/CENTER]
The word 'bass' is a technical musical term used to described the lower end of the audio spectrum that can be heard by human ears. It probably originated in latin or something, like a lot of musical terms.
Quote by buckethead_jr
^And known for that bloody awesome croissant with a crown.
Man that's badass.

MINE SIG R PINK
Quote by NorseGodofRock
Well yea, I know why its pronounced differently, but why is it pronounced differently? Why not just SPELL IT like you say it...

probably to mess with people that get easily confused, much like yourself.