Well I've been playing guitar for about 6 months now. It's not a popular or expensive guitar just a $150 one to get me started. I've learned a bunch of chords and I can switch between them pretty fast now. (yes I haven't practiced loads, should be farther than that at six months) But my question is what's the next step you should take? What should you start to learn next? Any advice would be much appreciated.

Sorry if this is a stupid question...
Rub icy hot on it
Quote by toxicity33
When I was like 3(4?) My friend and I hatched a plan to murder the easy-chair in my living room. We ran in there tipped it over and stabbed it a bunch(with previously aquired steak knives) and left it for dead.

Learn your scales. Thats it. Learn your scales and some theory to back them up. Then just learn a bunch of songs you like. Analise (sp?) those songs. What key are they in? What scales do the guitarist base their solo's on? Etc. Once your done that, then you may do whatever you'd like.
You should start learning some songs you know.. e.i. Sweet Home Alabama, Stairway to Heaven, Comfortably Numb, ect.. just work on the main parts for now and work your way up to the solo's.
Quote by DunlopGuy
I...don't...get...this...thre (brain explodes)

Quote by glib homunculus
I make love to cheesecake.

analyse**

Well you could start learning sweep picking now :P (jk)

Learn the 12 bar blues, the pentatonic scale, and have some 1 jam with you, them just playing the chords to the blues and you improve over it. Its a great and easy skill to learn when your starting, as soon as you have the chords and scales down.

Quote by dogismycopilot
Absent Mind, words cant express how much i love you. Id bone you, oh yea.

Quote by lumberjack
Absent Mind is, as usual, completely correct.

Quote by littlemurph7976
Id like to make my love for Neil public knowledge as he is a beautiful man