im a beginner and i really want to kno what are the best basses for $550 and below? Ive been looking at the mid-priced schecters and ibanez srx's but i cant make up my mind... thx in advance for all the help
Quote by dwillwin
im a beginner and i really want to kno what are the best basses for $550 and below? Ive been looking at the mid-priced schecters and ibanez srx's but i cant make up my mind... thx in advance for all the help

only bass or do you need an amp too?

I would say ibanez is good for beginners!
nah i dont have anything yet so i guess i need some advice for amps too... and which ibanez do you reccomend?
Quote by dwillwin
nah i dont have anything yet so i guess i need some advice for amps too... and which ibanez do you reccomend?

(at musiciansfriend)
Ibanez SRX300 Electric 4-String Bass Guitar $329.99: It has got 2 humbuckers so you have a powerfull tone.
Marshall MB30 Bass Amp Combo $199.99:you need a combo in the beginning. If you buy a cheaper amp, you sound will still suck even if you have a bongo! (my sound sucks now).
I have a good active Ibanez for bit cheaper. no humbuckers though. ask a guy at a shop, mess around with stuff. they actually let people do that.

No Pete Townshend though.
Quote by FatalGear41
I wouldn't call what we have here on the Bass Forum a mentality. It's more like the sharing part of an AA meeting.

Quote by Jason Jillard
HUMANITY WHATS WRONG WITH YOU.

Warwick Fortress>>Acoustic AB50

http://www.myspace.com/rustingbloom
so the srx's r generally better than the schecters for beginners? and do i need any other effects and stuff besides the amp?
All you should need to start is a bass, an amp, a cable, and a strap. As I always say, a cheap amp will make a million dollar bass sound like crap, but a good amp can make a starter bass sound like gold.
Quote by PatMcRotch
The term grammer nazi is from the camps in the lolocaust made by Adrofl Hitlol...

Quote by Wasted Bassist