After playing bass for 4 years you'd think I'd have figured it out by now, but I haven't. What's the difference between an active EQ and active pickups? I was looking into a Schecter Stiletto and it has EMG Hz pickups, which are passive. However, it still takes a battery. I don't quite understand.
Active EQ means you have an onboard EQ so you can actively change the tone on board rather than using the amp.
Founder of Jaco society

[22:08:23] <Confusius> I wish I was a bassist
[22:08:26] <Confusius> you fuckers look cool

Want to know how to play bass in jazz? Read this.
That sucks, because I don't want a bass with a battery. However, if I just don't replace the battery, it'll stop producing sound, right? I'd love to be able to keep the tonal options without the requirement of a 9v battery. =/
And active pickups use battery power, which means that the pickups require less windings to produce a strong enough signal. This results in a more "cleaner" signal.
Quote by Hergiswi
That sucks, because I don't want a bass with a battery. However, if I just don't replace the battery, it'll stop producing sound, right? I'd love to be able to keep the tonal options without the requirement of a 9v battery. =/

As a good precaution, get a bass pre-amp with an active/passive switch. It has saved my life once.
Quote by shut_up_you_***
As a good precaution, get a bass pre-amp with an active/passive switch. It has saved my life once.

+1 I have oen on my Lakland and it's great if you end up with a dodgy battery or you just want to revert to passive tone, but be aware that it will sound quieter in passive mode and you get no EQ options.
Founder of Jaco society

Honestly, I don't really know what a pre-amp is. My band conductor who taught me bass never actually taught about what anything is. =/