Ok, I recently started playing guitar again and unlike my first attempt many many years ago this time I'm taking the time to learn how to actually read / understand music instead of just tabs. That being said I have a question concerning reading music and knowing exactly which note to play.

I know the notes that are on the lines and spaces but how do you know where to play that note on the fretboard? For example, top space is an e note but how do you know if it's an open 1st string, 1st string 12th note, or any other spot on the board that equates to that e? (I'm using e as an example but I'm curious about how to know for all notes).

Since we're on the subject of the e note, what are the e notes on the 2, 3, 4, and 5th strings called? 1st is e and 6th is E but what about the other strings? As you can see this has me all kinds of confused and any help would be greatly appreciated. Even just a link or two to a website that goes into this kind of detail would be more than helpfull.

Thanks in advance!
theoreticly you could play it wherever you like................but if it helps the low e note is the second space down on the bass cleff if your looking at a grand staff
Yeah i know the notes on the strings as well. And I know how they progress up and down the fretboard and the flats and sharps as well. My confusion comes from reading a note on a piece of music and knowing which to hit on the fretboard.

For instance, a G note is open 3rd, 3rd fret on 1 and 6, etc etc but if I see a G note written in the music how do I know which to play? I know you said you could actually play any of them but if that's the case, how do you read music and play it the way it's supposed to be played without having a copy of the music to actually listen to?

Thanks for the replies btw!