I'm starting to study theory and one question I haven't been able to answer has been the difference between a major key and its relative minor, for example the difference in playing in C Maj vs. A min. I asked my teacher and all he said was "the difference is in the chords" so if C Maj contains Cmaj-Dmin-Emin-Fmaj-Gmaj-Amin-Bdim-Cmaj what would have to change to be playing in A min?
If is a piece is in C major it will resolve to the C chord if the piece is in A minor it will resolve to the Am chord. Also for minor keys you'd expect the V to be major ie E instead of Em because E to Am sounds better than Em to Am.
Founder of Jaco society

[22:08:23] <Confusius> I wish I was a bassist
[22:08:26] <Confusius> you fuckers look cool

Want to know how to play bass in jazz? Read this.
Maybe I'm answering your question in a way thats different than your asking but the main difference is the sound..minor=sad..major=happy..but if I'm not giving you what you want just ignore this..and from what I know..minor anything always has a flatted third..which is key to know if you what your playing is minor even at all!
Death..Is Just The Beginning..
Quote by DiamondOfBlood
Maybe I'm answering your question in a way thats different than your asking but the main difference is the sound..minor=sad..major=happy..but if I'm not giving you what you want just ignore this..and from what I know..minor anything always has a minor third..which is key to know if you what your playing is minor even at all!

Fixed.

While C major and A minor contain the same notes (ie they are relative modes), they have different intervals, C major has the intervals 1 2 3 4 5 6 7, A minor has the intervals 1 2 b3 4 5 b6 b7. And, as sinan said, A minor resolves to Am, C major resolves to C.
My name is Andy
Quote by MudMartin
Only looking at music as math and theory, is like only looking at the love of your life as flesh and bone.

Swinging to the rhythm of the New World Order,