Page 1 of 2
Okay, so to start this off, I have very little experience with the inner workings of a computer. All I've really done is install a new hard drive once.

However, in the year I spent at college, I realized that it's not very often I use my laptop as a laptop. It mostly just sits parked on my desk. It's not the best computer, and the hard drive is quickly running out of space. I'd like to upgrade to something bigger and better, so I decided on getting a desktop. Now, with the advice from a few friends, and browsing around, I decided that I would get a much better system if I built my own computer, rather than purchasing one from somewhere like HP or Dell. I hear it's not terribly difficult either.

I have a version of Windows Vista Ultimate that I... acquired, which I plan on installing. If I decide I don't like it, I have a version of Windows XP Pro. I would also like to dual-boot with some form of Linux as well.

Here is the prospective set up I've found looking around newegg.com. I also plan on using this guide to get me through the building process- http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/How_To_Assemble_A_Desktop_PC/Printable_version

Case with 500 watt power supply
motherboard
processor
RAM (probably getting 2 sets)
HDD
graphics card
DVD burner
monitor
speakers

For sound- the motherboard has a built in sound card.

How does this look? Do I need a network interface card to get to the internet? I can't tell whether or not the motherboard has one built in.

Sorry for the wall of text...
It's fairly easy building a computer really.

I would advise you to get a separate sound card, the built ins are usually crap.

When I buildt mine I got two network interface cards, one for wire and one for wireless

Edit: couldn't be bothered to check the specifics of all the cards and stuff, but you might want to check if 500W power supply is enough!
...And the worms ate into his brain.