I'm a singer and guitarist, and I find that if I focus hard about what I'm about to play on the guitar or the lyrics I'm about to sing when I'm singing and playing, I usually mess myself up. So I usually think about when I practice or the artist that made the song I'm singing, and I let the playing and singing kind of come more natural. I was just wondering what you guys think about when playing or singing.

Peace.
I don't think about anything, I just do what feels musically "right". Once I've been playing more than 20 minutes straight, I get lost in it and usually end up playing for hours without realizing it, or until I break a string. Just let yourself feel it and vibe with the music... I know this is corny, but just be one with your guitar and the music.
I'm usually thinking about the rhythm, tapping my foot and concentrating on the timing and how I'm going to play the next chord. When soloing, I really concentrate on where the key is going, moving up a down the neck in patterns and intervals in whatever scale I am in, and also thinking about the rhythm.
Quote by Colby81
I'm a singer and guitarist, and I find that if I focus hard about what I'm about to play on the guitar or the lyrics I'm about to sing when I'm singing and playing, I usually mess myself up. So I usually think about when I practice or the artist that made the song I'm singing, and I let the playing and singing kind of come more natural. I was just wondering what you guys think about when playing or singing.

Peace.

Think about what you truly believe and stand for. Not the technical aspects. Because your song is your heart.
By the way Peace, and love, and oh yeah happiness.
i dont think. my fingers just end up sorta doing their own thing. this is why i like to improvise rather than play composed solos most of the time.
Quote by Rockford_rocks
HENDRIX WAS NOT MEANT TO GO WOOBLYWOOBLYWOOBLYWOOBLY!

i think if i mess up this will be embarrising, so i just think of the rytham
Quote by JamieB