so i'm saving up money/waiting for christmas to buy a new amp. at the moment, i have a line 6 spider III 15 and i'm really not very satisfied with it. a lot of times the tones on the clean and metal setting don't work until you move them back and forth and the sound is too electronic. so i'm definetly going to get one for christmas from my dad buy i'm not sure what. as far as i'm concerned my budget is like $400-$550 which makes it very difficult to get a good amp, but at the same time a good price.

i've been playing for about three years on my cheap ibanez rg120, and i'm quite good because i also play another string instrument, so i wasn't starting out of the blue. hopefully after i buy an amp i'll get a job so i can save up for a jackson dk2m dinky. i play a lot of metal, i.e. pantera, megadeth, job for a cowboy, as i lay dying, children of bodom etc. and i would really like an amp that has an impressive sound when it comes to distortion but also a really good clean setting because i use both a lot.

i'm really looking for a half stack, preferably not a combo amp. this is very hard because there are very few half stacks in my price range, and i guarantee my parents will not pay more that that. i've been looking around at a lot of amps and i'm getting a lot of mixed reviews, especially on sites like guitarcenter.com, so i decided getting opinions from actual people would be a lot better. i would definetly buy a used amp assuming it's in good condition, though i probably wouldn't go as far as ebay. i would love opinions of affordable half stacks that are suitable for a lot of metal, and any combo amp that can hold its own against half stacks. i will start gigging soon, once my band writes more so i would like an amp that would the appropriate sound for live shows, though very small ones.
randall makes a variety of good high gain solid states for cheap, look into randall combos. dimebag also used a solid state randall for just about all of his career.