Im a novice guitarist (ive been playing for about two years) and im interested in buying an effects pedal. Im either going to buy the zoom g2 or the cheeper zoom g1. As a novice would i benifet from the more advanced one or should i save my money. Any help would be appreciated.
Ok, heres how it goes. I had a Zoom GFX effects board, great stuff, toured with it, giged, practiced with it, etc. But just before a series of shows, it went out. You see now this sucks, because my distortion, reverb, delay and awesome effects are on there. Just to save you the trouble, go for the single effect pedals, like the Bad Monkey or the DS-1. im not saying that Zoom is a bad company, but just save yourself the aggravation I had.
I got a G1X and it's ace. My dad has this guitar tech friend who's awesome at guitar because he's been playing all his life and he started jamming on it. He went out and bought his own.

It's good for only $150. When you want better quality go out and buy one but this will do for mucking around at home and learning on. The G1X is better than the G1 as it comes with an expression pedal.

Some sound samples if you want. Link

I haven't tried the g2 but the g1 is great. I'd recommend it.

edit:

Quote by J6strings21fret
it went out. You see now this sucks, because my distortion, reverb, delay and awesome effects are on there.

It wouldn't take that long to re-configure your settings.