So I bought a tuner.. (Korg Chromatic Tuner CA-30)

I was just wondering.. what is the normal hertz (HZ) (shown in the top left corner) to use when tuning your bass? I currently have mine at 443 Hz.

What would be the approriate Hz to use?
I have exactly the same tuner! I always have it set to 440 which is the pitch of a concert A I think.
Quote by Bumper
Looks like you had a big bowl of Downs Syndrome for breakfast.

Member of the Bass Militia, PM Nutter_101 to join

Lover of Ashdown? Join the Ashdown Army!
yup, 440
Yeah, now you're gonna die wearing that stupid little hat. How does it feel?

Help me to live.

I make custom guitar wiring harnesses and I'm pretty damn good at it!
You could also use 220 or 110 or 880 for A as well.
Founder of Jaco society

[22:08:23] <Confusius> I wish I was a bassist
[22:08:26] <Confusius> you fuckers look cool

Want to know how to play bass in jazz? Read this.
Why did it come with 443, if it's 440?

Also, why do they matter?

I always knew 440, but never why.
Quote by Demonikk
+1
I live by the method: 3 or less orange warning labels, and it's safe as a kitten

Quote by Charlatan_001
EDIT: Sammcl pretty much got it dead on.
440 is standard pitch. higher is some of the freeky asian music and lower is some wierd music. but please tune it to 440 nobody writes music in the other pitches anynore
ESP B-405,Fender American Jazz Bass(EMG J active pups and LEO QUAN BADASS II ) squire P bass(EMG P active Pups)),
SansAmp Bass driver DI
Ampeg SvP PRO Tube Preamp
QSC2450 Power amp
Furman PL8
FINALLY-Ampeg SVT 810E
Ok guys, you can stop, about 50 people have all said A440.

i wish
Cort lover of the Bass Militia. PM Nutter_101 to join.
On cheating in a relationship...

Quote by metaldud536
If he doesn't use a gameshark, it's not cheating.

I'm a non-regular regular old user.
Quote by Foible776
the hz only matters if ur in a band and u need to have the same hz