I tried searching but there were like 800 results and none of them looked right, so...

I'm trying to learn the basics behind slap bass, but I'm having trouble with the thumb part. The action on my bass might be really high or something, I'm a bass noob so I'm not sure. Do I need to be plugged into an amp to hear it right? Because when I try to slap it just seems to rattle and doesn't make a very distinguishable sound.

Also where should my thumb hit? Is it like on the last fret, or the piece of wood below the last fret, or on the strings?

Sorry for all the questions, but its frustrating me and its something I really want to learn.
This may not all be entirely true, but it's all from my experience. High action is definitely not good for slapping, and if you're not plugged into an amp, it may just sound like rattling, but it's kind of hard to judge without actually hearing or seeing it. My thumb usually tends to hit between the pickup and the neck, usually closer to the neck itself
Quote by Trefellin
You know a music scene is fucked up when it becomes difficult to keep track of who killed who, who committed suicide and who alledgedly engaged in cannibalism.

LastFM
You should hit the string with the bony part of your thumb on the side. Where on the string you slap is up to you. I tend to play up near the neck when I slap, but you can go near the bridge for an even more trebley sound.
Last.FM

Quote by Applehead
There are some things in life that are universally "good":

Sex, pizza, the smell of fresh washing and slap bass.
Well, I'll be honest with you. I'm not a bass player primarily, but I can slap and pop.

Really, the thumb slap is meant for that thick, somewhat distorted sound that you hear from Rush and Primus, etc.

Here's how you do it.

Hit your thumb against the string, and make sure you lift the string up or away from the body/fretboard. Don't exactly hit it, but lift it.