I've been playing for almost two years now. But pretty much the whole time up until the last half year, I haven't been really learning anything on guitar. Recently I've been playing a lot more and learning techniques, and I can finally say that picking has become very comfortable.

But now I'm a little stuck. I can play any scale up to a 120 bps rate within a few days. I've been doing every warm up that has been suggested, and work on new ones when I find them. So my technique is getting a lot better, but I feel like I'm making less progress now that I am at this level. I'm not saying I've mastered scales and picking, I'm saying that I at a level where I think I should move on to something else. What's next? Any suggestions on songs, that are more intermediate level and not just a few bars of solo and the rest of the song is chords?

Also, I've been playing a lot more blues than anything lately. I have a Epiphone Les Paul Black Beauty. But everytime I pick up a Fender American Strat, either at a guitar store or friends house, it always feels better when I play. Is it because I'm just tired of my guitar? Or that a Fender suits me more? Should I try to sell the guitar I have or trade it?

Oh, and if I were to get a strat, any suggestions on what kind? I've only played American Strats and I've loved them. Any others I should look out for? Any models in particular? I have a price range of 400-800 dollars.

Any suggestions would be helpful.
Own:
Vox AD30vt Amp
Epiphone Les Paul BB
Some old korean-made classic acoustic...

And looking for an acoustic
Last edited by Rzer at Aug 14, 2007,
Can't think of any songs off the top of my head, but try the Tab Talk forum with regards to that. The guitar issue... try the guitar more and see if you really do like it and then make a decision based on which you prefer!!