i understand add chords are adding a note from the major scale to a major chord, while suspended chords replace a note from the major chord. but if each key of the major scale has 7 notes in it, how could you add a 9th.. wwhwwwh = 7 notes, or does that pattern continue? to wwhwwwhww?

if so, the 9th would be an E note. However as we know, a cadd9 chord is replacing the first fret b string (c note) to 3rd fret b string (D note). were adding a D note not an E. so as i understand it, the D note would be the 8th, so why is called a cadd9, not a cadd8. i know im missing something here. ?
D is the ninth. E is the third. I think?? I'm not that great at music theory, but I'm pretty sure of this...
I mean E is the third if you're just playing a regular C chord. The D is the ninth if you're playing Cadd9. Sorry for not clarifying it.
heres what the c major scale would look like up to the 9th degree, (if im correct at repeating the pattern)


so c major chord would be - C F A
C add nine should be - C F A E ???
Here are 1st-10th (based on the C major scale)

1st - C
2nd - D
3rd - E
4th - F
5th - G
6th - A
7th - B
8th - C
9th - D
10th - E
C Major is C E G, not C F A.
Ibanez RGR521EX1
Epiphone Masterbilt AJ-500R
Roland Cube
Spider II 30
-Crybaby GCB-95
-SansAmp GT2
-Boss DS-1, RC-2
The 9th is the same as the 2nd, but an octave higher.
Quote by dudetheman
So what? I wasted like 5 minutes watching DaddyTwoFoot's avatar.

Metalheads are the worst thing that ever happened to metal.
_add9 chords are made of 1 3 5 9, where the fifth is an optional note.

C D E F G A B C D E  F  G  A  B  C
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

Therefore Cadd9 is comprised of the notes C E G D, where G is an optional note.
Last edited by Tsunoyukami at Aug 15, 2007,