Well I've been playing bass for about two years now, and for some reason I never really played any blues solos. Recently my bass teacher gave me the chords to a standard blues and told me to mess around soloing over them just using a basic blues scale. I know typically in a blues the chords are commonly dominant seventh chords (which have a major 3rd), but the blues scale I was given has a minor 3rd. This doesn't make much sense to me, so if anyone could clear this up that would be great. Thanks in advance.
The minor third in the blues scale is heard as an augmented second when you play over a dominant chord - which results in a _7#9 chord (1 - 3 - b7 - #9).
Yeah... Why do you think the blues sounds the way it does? It's dissonant. Minor scale with a diminished 5th over major chords. Get a recording or get some one to play the chords for you or a cliche blues riff/shuffle thing... And mess with the scale. Just listen... It will come to you. Hopefully.
Quote by eggo_boi_15
Arnt the first few things anyone learns on a guitar is

1. Nirvana - smells like teen spirit
2. Prince - Smoke on the water
3. White stripes - seven nation army

^ lol
well the blues sound is made by playing a minor scale(pentatonic/blues scale) over a major progression. you can also add in some major notes as well but if you go straight into the major it can sometimes lose that feeling. this isnt always the case though. it depends on the song. but id say dont worry about those things like that that dont make much sense. its all to make a certain feel.
Pending on the song, it sounds good to alternate between both major and minor scales.