Just for the hell of it, I'm considering replacing the pickups on my Squier Strat with something a little better. I've never done this before, so I'm a little clueless. First off, is it even going to improve anything on my piece of crap guitar to do so? Is the sound produced by the guitar mostly a product of the pickups, or are there additional electronics which govern the sound? Secondly, do I have to replace all of them, or would it be possible just to install a bridge humbuckler? Will humbucklers even fit in a Squier Strat?

Finally, if this is even a little bit of a good idea, what should I be looking at for metal? Obviously, either Duncans or EMGs, but is there a huge difference between active and passive? Are actives a pain, as in, do you need to change the battery frequently or anything?
Squier Strat
B-52 AT-212 100w tube
Boss Metal Zone

Amateur philosopher and physicist
actives can be a pain in the ass to install if you do it yourself. I personally dont like them, they give a more compressed tone, and offer tonal capabilities that arent possible with the passives, but im still a passive fan. Duncans or dimarzios or Guitarfetish.com GFS pickups. the GFS are way nice, and are super cheap. if your looking for single coils, they have whole sets of 3 there for abour 60-70 bucks i think, and they are nice.

as far as it really making a difference on your guitar... as long as your guitar is made of a good tonal wood, they should make a pretty good difference in the sound, but sometimes that could be useless if the playability blows..

And actually, the sound is mostly governed by your amp, but new pickups WILL improve your sound, just not as much as a new better amp would.
if you play squire Strat, i would save the money and just buy a nicer guitar with pickups that are not going to need to be change. Squire Strat is not really going to give you a metal tone that your going to be happy with. at least thats what i think.