I've tried all different types of picks and sizes, as well as different ways of holding it. Nothing seems to work.

I'm a beginner at guitar, and alternate picking, and am trying to learn out of Troy Stetina's book "Speed Mechanics for Lead Guitar". He stresses the importance of alternate picking, especially between strings.

I'm a beginner, and I suck, but the picking in general just doesn't feel right and I always miss notes. How should I hold the pick?

Currently I can do with just thumb and index finger, which feels easier but is more sloppy than using my thumb, index, and middle finger. My three finger combo gets in the way sometimes when I'm going up and downstrings (since my middle finger is being used, it'll hit extra strings.)

what can I do so I stop becomming so frustrated and can learn how to pick right?
slow down. hold the pick whatever way is most comfortable it really doesn't matter much. it would be a little stupid holding it with your index finger and your pinky you know? but other than that it shouldn't matter much.

you just need to slow down the exercises you're doing (use a metronome) and gradually build speed

there is a speed where you can pick everything perfectly, start from that
If you're truly a beginner you should try to learn songs with alternate picking.
Thats the way I learnt it. And its much more fun since you get to learn a great song and get better at playing. And remember, challenge yourself!
dude, hold it however you want to hold it. its not the way you're holding it thats making you mess up. you say you're a beginner. juss start out slowly, as slow as you need to, then gradually speed up. it WILL take time. people always want instant results, and that juss doesnt happen with guitar. you wont even notice when you can suddenly do it.
What songs do you recommend? I'm into metal and rock. Most songs I try to play are from Megadeth which are too hard.