alrite, so i decided to finally go electric after playing my crummy acoustic for a couple of years or so.
i like bands/genres like led zep, white stripes, radiohead, pink floyd, sigur ros, jeff buckley, old time country bluegrass (norman blake in particular), and classical.
so, i want something that can have quite a versatile set of tones. now i realize that no one guitar can satisfy all those bands and genres perfectly, but i just want a 'close enough' sound i guess, since i'm completely new to the electric world.

i can shell out a grand for the guitar+amp+pedals

i've been interested in the epiphone les paul custom, cuz well.... it has a nice warm tone, and i know it can do the classic rocky blues stuff well, but i'm not sure if the other stuff would play out as well.

soo.. any recommendations?
Last edited by majorbabu at Aug 21, 2007,

Quote by KileManA7X
I remember my first erection. I went to my dad and was like "Do I have Aids???". I seriously thought there was something wrong with me.

Quote by the spiker
Maybe get a fender fat strat.

Fender Standard HSS Strat w/VOX Valvetronix AD50VT... It will cover your need for long term guitar, amp, and pedals... The amp is a modeling amp with 11 different amp models and 11 different effects, quite AWESOME! Plus the 50w will get you through playing with friends once you get to that point!
Guitars

Epiphone PR-150 Acoustic
Fender Standard HSS Stratocaster

Amps
Vox Valvetronix AD30VT

Music translates into life, and life into music!
i have the perfect guitar for you. but im currently waiting on a certain ebay auction to end.

ill put it up in an hour and a half.

in the meantime, i second that amp.

and vote instead for a vox v847 wah.
within you lay everything
every key
every secret

untouched and in plain sight
Last edited by staticoverdub at Aug 21, 2007,
Oh no don't get the dunlop orginal crybaby!

Make sure if you get a dunlop crybaby you get one with a fasel in it.