Page 1 of 2
So I've been playing for a good five years or so, and I have begun to realize that my 65 watt SS amp just isn't cutting it anymore. In the past few weeks I've been looking into getting a tube amp, and with my birthday coming up in less then two weeks, I'll probably end up buying one.

I've played through a few Fenders (Blues Jr., Hot Rod Deluxe, and I think a Hot Rod DeVille if I remember) and liked them, but then tried out a Peavey Classic 50 and really liked that one. I've also heard some good things about the Palomino's, but haven't tried them out yet.

So I'd like to look into the Classic 50, but those things go for $800 new, and I don't really want to spend that much. I've seen them used for around $400-500, and tried to contact the seller but couldn't get through, and right now, I'm not really finding anything except for one on ebay for $440 + shipping. I did, however, manage to find a Classic 100 for $500 shipped, which sounds very tempting, but I don't think I'll ever need all that power.

Soooo, anyone have any suggestions/comments/etc. on what I could do with those options or any other amps I could try? Help is much appreciated.

EDIT: oh yeah, I play mainly classic rock stuff (Pink Floyd, Aerosmith, Zeppelin, etc.) as well as a ton of Black Crowes.
How to achieve Frank Zappa's guitar tone:
Quote by Thefallofman
Step 1: Buy a Gibson SG
Step 2: Insert Green Ringer, EQ, 3 dead squirrels and a microwave into said SG
Step 3: Plug in and freak the **** out.
Having headroom is valuable even if you don't use all the wattage. If they appear similar quality I don't see any reason not to go with the 100.
Quote by tunasband
Who's ug?
You could try getting a Peavey Classic 30 and then get an extension cab when you have more cashola

You might as well get the Classic 100, though. You can always get an attenuator if you want to get more saturation at lower volumes.
Recognized by the Official EG/GG&A Who To Listen To List 2008
Quote by utsapp89