Yup. I'm a decent pianist, playing chords and such, not the fancy reading music. So, I know every basic chord and many advanced ones, and what notes they are made of, which I know will help. I also sing. I'm in the process of learning guitar, and I got one yesterday. First time I really layed hands on one. I've memorized chords for C, A, Am, Em, F, and G. I can play all of these decently with little buzzing, but I'm still working on my one-second gaps in between chords. I'm sticking with strumming for now, and I have an Acoustic guitar.

Now a couple of questions. 1. Is there a good way to do a bar chord? I have a Bb in one of my songs, and I really gotta strain my arm to hit it even decently. 2. What's a good position for playing? I've been playing with my guitar on right leg, but I've seen some classical position, and what's that? 3. Any other general tips for me?
Um for bar chords it really is just practice, but make sure you try out different positions for your index finger. Try it a little higher or lower along the fret. i found it easier if i didn't use the tip of my index finger to hold dow nthe E string but instead use the place where my fingerprint is.
Quote by Mekchrious
Yup. I'm a decent pianist, playing chords and such, not the fancy reading music. So, I know every basic chord and many advanced ones, and what notes they are made of, which I know will help. I also sing. I'm in the process of learning guitar, and I got one yesterday. First time I really layed hands on one. I've memorized chords for C, A, Am, Em, F, and G. I can play all of these decently with little buzzing, but I'm still working on my one-second gaps in between chords. I'm sticking with strumming for now, and I have an Acoustic guitar.