Hey,

I've been playing guitar for just over two years now, and I'm not that sure where to go. I had a teacher for about a year but after he taught me a couple of scales, he was just teaching me songs which I found boring so I quit.

Now, my problem is, my improvisation and versatility around the fretboard. Literally the two scales I know are Minor pentatonic and Minor Blues Pentatonic. (Sorry if I got those wrong.)

I really want to put my wrongs right and learn some more scales, maybe some complicated chords, learn theory etc. I know you must hear this all the time and I'm sorry.

So basically, what I'm asking you is this :-

1. I want to stay as a sort of blues rock guitarist, such as Slash for instance, but without using the Minor pentatonic scales too much.

2. Could someone please try and explain to me how one would work their way through the fretboard whilst staying in the right key to improvise/solo? I always see these guides saying " MASTER THE FRETBOARD AND SOLO ALL OVER IT WHILST PLAYING TO THE KEY OF C" but they never seem to make sense to me.

3. Any real ideas where I should go to advance in guitar other than what I've stated? I want to get better but I'm not up for getting a teacher just now.

Thanks so much.
all-guitar-chords.com and look up scales, helps you a bit

Also learn modes (Ionian, Locryan, Phrygian etc)
And learn the harmonic minor patterns.

Just go with the flow learn as much as you possibly can.