I've been playing guitar for just over two years now, and I've found that I'm stuck in an awkward...phase?
I can play, quite well, a lot of Rock, Pop, Alternative, Punk and some thrashy metal. And since I've managed these genres, I've tried learning Blues, Classical and some Progressive, as well as Blues/Metal (Sabbath, Maiden). The problem I've found, is that, although I've got familiar with those genres mentioned earlier, I'm not advanced enough to play those genres I just listed, and while I'm stuck at a certain skill level, I've been getting quite bored with my guitars, and I've had less desire to play them recently. I'm considering getting a Digitech Whammy pedal to play with when I get the money, but does anyone have any tips or ideas of what I can do to keep interested and increase my skill?

Thanks.
jam with people. i had a phase like that kinda when i was starting. the more people you jam with the better, trust me
Quote by tarheelfan2
Oh ****, I just found out I got pwned by Joey! Damn...

Quote by funkbass369
GASPPPP! another one pwned by joey!

Quote by funkyfigure8
Lulz Joey Is Teh Ownage I Want His Penus
I'd suggest focusing on your favorite genre and gradually tackle more difficult songs. There are progressively more difficult songs in almost every style of music. So for example if you learned Enter Sandman tackle the much harder Dyer's Eve. If that's too hard go for a moderate increase like Fade to Black. Just a thought.

A few other ideas woule be to focus on more techniques and exercises so that you will have the technical skills to play harder songs. You could also try writing your own material or collaborate to spark your creativity and re kindle your interest. If you can afford lessons they can sometimes help you break out of a rut too. Cheers.
Well, I have over-protective parents which would stop me jamming with people that they don't know, so that's one opportunity gone, but thanks for the help.