Page 1 of 2
This is a thread aimed at those of us that are teachers, and it would mostly serve as a place where new teachers can learn the ropes, veterans can exchange tips, provide some help, standards, recommended books and methods, syllabus, etc. Tell us a little about yourself as well!

Ive been playing guitar for about 3 years, keyboards for about 5 months, drums for about 7 months, and bass for about 3 months. I mostly teach beginner piano, beginner drums, beginner bass, and beginner, intermediate, and advanced guitar. I teach people ranging from 5-60, from all walks of life. Some helpful tips I can provide at the moment:

-I find that alot of young girls (and sometimes even boys!) will LOVE learning the music to the popular Disney movie, "High School Musical". I invested in the sheet music book & CD, and it was definately worth it. Its provided me with many successful beginner piano lessons, and the kids really have alot of fun with it.

-For the first lesson for kids on guitar, I usually have them memorize the EADGBE strings, forwards and backwards, and then have them learn a simple melody such as Twinkle Twinkle, or for the older kids, I have them play an easy version of popular video game songs while I play the rhythm/lead guitar.

-I find that the first time you meet a student, you should determine if they are the kind to be either inspired or crushed by seeing someone alot better than them. If they are gonna be inspired, I recommend you spend a few minutes now and then to do some shredding, and youll know it will work when you see their eyes light up, smile from ear to ear, and tell you that they too want to do that. For the ones that seem a little more fragile, dont play in front of them at all, you might make it look too easy, and upon them trying to play what you did, and have a tough time, they might quit guitar right after that first lesson and never pick it up again, or maybe later down the road.