Page 1 of 2
URGH!!!i've asked this question so many times! i'm new to electric and planing to get a S470,which has a floating bridge/ZR trem,but other people keep saying that i should get a fixed bridge..whats the dam difference?
A floating bridge is suspended by the difference between string and spring tension, and held in place by balancing on two 'poles'. This allows for it to be dunked, and crazy sounds made etc. but maintenence is (reportedly) harder and more fiddly. Granted drop tuning and string changing are an arse, as well as intonation, but still....

A fixed bridge is not 'floating', and cannot be dunked as far (if at all, depending on the bridge), and this allows for very quick easy string changes (under 15 mins), and easy allowance for drop tuning, along with (if compared with a crappy floating bridge) higher grade tuning stability.
Why did Pat Metheney cross the road? He didn't, his hair got in the way
--
Member #1 of Ibanez > You club. PM me to join
A floating trem ... wobbles notes and changes pitch of notes. Have you ever pressed down on that bar that comes on it? Know what a dive bomb is?

A fixed bridge doesn't do...anything.

And by the way, do NOT change your ZR trem for some fixed bridge...it's the best trem on the market at the moment, your friends are stupid.
Axe FX 2
Matrix GT1000FX
Mesa 4x12
Behringer FCB1010
Yes if you like it that much, but make sure you're aware of the commitment you're making. An floating bridge isn't for everyone, and from your music styles you don't sound like you'd use it...
--
for those of you who didn't see his other thread. he wants to play soft rock/classic rock only. he should not be getting a double locking trem.

vintage trem or fixed bridge
and the S470 does not have one righT?most of the reviews said that its good for all sort of music..