After a great deal of arguing with my parents they finally caved and agreed to let me get a drum set.Only thing is I've never played the drums before and I have no idea what brands are good and what sucks.Since I'm only learning I don't wanna spend a ton of money on a set, but I don't want to buy a hunk of crap either.What do the drummers of UG recommend?
WOOAAAAHHHH
TAMA, Pearl, and Ludwig are the best brands. Also they have some good starter drums. In Cymbals I'd say Zildjian or Sabian.
A good starter set is a CB, the shells are made of maple, I have had one for a few years now. The cymbals you get with them are rather cheap but will last you a long time. The snare drum will need to be replaced once you get better and start recording, but the main set (shells) are decent, I bought my rig used for less than 200 bucks, and have not had any problems, just update some of the wquipment as you get better. Remember the trick to making any set sound good is TUNING..you would tune a guitar so TUNE your drums, RELIGIOUSLY!!!! If you know how to tune you can take a piece of **** set and make it sound better than a 1000 dollar set!!
I had no idea drums had to be tuned..How can you tell if they're out of tune?
WOOAAAAHHHH
Maybe a Yamaha Custom Stage Noveau if you know you are gonna' be serious about it.
Quote by sSyLc
Looking for a bj from an unsuspecting animal eh?
Member of The True Eccentric Tea Drinking Appreciation Preservation Society
Quote by denizenz
I came, I saw, I cleaned it up.
Remember that you dont need 90284390 toms, i used to be like that, its fun but not needed. 2-3 is enough, crash and ride is all you need. But to get good fast, is to start using nothing, and work your way up, thats how my teacher taught me, and ive impressed alot of people. this is off topic but still related to the kit its self