My Fender Blues Junior (about 1 month old, and a kickass amp, for anyone interested) has been making this odd static noise. It comes and goes when the amp is turned on, whether a guitar is plugged in or not. Today it started making a quiet whining noise which sounded a bit like feedback, but it persisted even when I turned the guitar volume down. I'm new to owning tube amps, is this something I should be worried about, or is it normal?
Try retubing. If it's under warranty still, you should be able to get a new set of tubes free from Fender.
did you buy it in a store like guitar center? because as you all know all of the stuff their is played on all the time so maybe that could be the case? if you bought it their.
89' fender strat
gibson sg specail with grover tuners
standard tele
ibenez gio bass
takamine eg334sc
72'martin d-15
skbps-45 board, lots of pedals
peavey tripple xxx head w/ marshall cab
bought it from Hollowood, a smaller store. considerably better than guitar center. But that does make sense- I bought the display model, they didn't have any others in stock.
Static sounds can also come from electronic devices in the room interacting with your pickups, especially tv's and monitors Ive noticed.
"Good and evil lay side by side as electric love penetrates the sky"
true, but I have humbuckers, and the static happens even without the guitar plugged in.
^go trade with a new one. they sold u a bad one. they have to trade you.
Call me "Shot".

ShotRod Guitar Works

Custom Hand-wired Amplifiers and Effect Pedals.

Est. 2007

Source to everything I say about Guitars, Pedals, and Amplifiers: I make them.

UG's Best DIY PedalBoard
I'd bet you could find out what the problem is and fix it, I already started looking and have an idea how to tell whether it comes from a preamp or power amp tube if it is a tube, which is a good possibility.