I have my eyes set on a Fender Hot Rod Deluxe so I can play blues with a nice clean tube tone but I was wondering if there are any things I should look out for if I'm buying a tube amp secondhand.

And yes, a good tip would be to check if it is a tube amp which I worked out myself because I'm so clever, BUT I'm not very experienced with tube amps and have to buy used cus I have NO money to buy new and need some help from you godly UGer's.

Thanks for any help
If you can try to find out how old the tubes are, you'll probably want to change them out anyway but its good to make sure. Also just play it before you buy it, just to make sure it sounds good and doesn't have an problems.
Emo is to music as etch-a-sketch is to art.

Quote by TMVolta19
Music can't really be judged, since it's all on the same level. Unless it's screamo. then it sucks.
depends where your buying from. if it's someone you know then just make sure it's working, test all of the knobs. one thing i would also advise is looking for a used fender blues deluxe if you like using a lot of gain for blues. i've never played the hot rod but they get some rap for having bad gain

if you're buying from ebay just make sure of this:

if they have a score of 0-100 you want 98% positive rating +

100-1000 - 95% +

1000+ you can maybe let that drop to 90%, but do your research, TRY to find something the seller hasn't covered about the amp and ask questions. if they can answer then they are more likely to be legit.
Quote by Kutanmoogle
Now introducing Megabreth, Dave Mustaine's signature Tic-Tac!

Member of the ENGL Family

Gear:

Hamer Vector
OLP John Petrucci
ENGL Thunder 50
EHX Holy Grail
EHX Small Clone
EHX Big Muff USA
Boss DD-3
Vox V847
Korg Toneworks OD
Last edited by Storm_Bringer_ at Sep 5, 2007,
what tubes would you recommend replacing them with?

is it possible for a novice like me to do the job?

oh crap about the gain - I was hoping to use it for rougher overdriven blues too.