So I've been playing guitar for about 3 months now and I'm trying to practice on my picking speed. I can some downstrokes fast but when I try to alternate between going up and down i screw up and start hitting a bunch of strings that I don't wanna be hitting. I try to practice starting out slow and working my way up in speed to get the feel of it. But I can't do it very fast at all.

my question is, how long should it usually take to master alternate picking?
This is a signature. Enjoy it.

Quote by wtf is wtf
The worst band i ever heard was The Search Bar.
master... i dont think that can happen.

But if you just want to be able to do it without hitting other strings you'll get it soon enough. Just keep practicing, its not too hard really.
I'm Tyler
I tryed to look for help on a different website and the guy said it took him years to master alternate picking. all i got to say is...good luck
If Rock is a life-style, then Metal's an addiction

Yelloooow!

Of The

UG Challenge

well you've only been playing three months so it might take you a little while longer than others. It might take you a whole month depending on how much you practice to get very comfortable with it.
But make sure you can play it perfectly slow, before you increase speed.
Mastering alternate picking doesn't happen, you just get a bit better, the key is to keep trying no matter how slow you are now, just keep pushing the envelope in terms of your own skill and make sure you're always clean in your playing, no matter what speed you're working at.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.