I just started playing about 3 weeks ago. And everytime I try to play any kinda scale or practice, like the 1-2-3-4 thing, on the the top 2 or 3 strings my left shoulder starts hurting. I think its because I may holding the neck wrong I dont know. I cant seem to find a comfortable way to do it. Anyone experience the same thing? Or know what could help?
Never heard of that before. Just make sure you're relaxed and not tensing up your arms while playing. It may be a non-guitar related issue also.
pics of how you hold it? i have never experienced left-shoulder pain, it may be how you hold it. do you know anyone else who plays guitar that could look at you and see the problem?
_b l/ink youreyes /1 for yes 2 fo_r n o
are you using a strap and sitting upright? that could be the problem. if not then go see a doctor.
♫♪♪♫♪♪♫♪♪♫♪♪♫♪♪♫♪♪

Quote by Rune Playaz
I vote thycrusader for 'The guy who hit the nail on the head'

Quote by Emilyyy.
thycrusader = Thigh_Crusader
Yea I dislocated it 4 different times over the years. I'm just hoping that's not it.
How heavy is the guitar? Les Pauls weigh half as much as Lake Pontchartrain and some woods are just heavy. The Yamaha SG 2000 supposedly weighs 2 1/2 pounds more. I know after playing one for 2 hours I was ready to set it down.

How low are you setting the strap? Playing too low forces your wrist into an unnatural bend and you could be trying to compensate with the shoulder.

I played for probably 10 or 15 years with my guitars low, "Jimmy Page" style was the going thing in 1970, but later on I started to set my guitars so they hang at about the same level as when I sit on a stool. Much more comfortable and natural, and I can play better too. The guitar itself hangs with the neck at an angle, tuning head 4 to 6" higher than bridge. Sitting the neck is almost level, but standing it rides at a bit more angle.
Hmmm...I wonder what this button does...
Quote by Black Mesa