Okay, school just started for me, and the jazz band is getting started again in a week or two. I've been playing sax in it, but not really liking that, and wanting to switch to bassist (the last one graduated). However, there are a few new folks coming in this year who are also interested, and they've been playing bass longer than me. I've been playing instruments for over a decade, though, and guitar for 8 years, which is not something any of these people have anything close to. Also, I have much better musical understanding and knowledge of theory. Don't get me wrong, I'm a good bassist, and more than adequate for the jazz band, but these guys know flashier stuff to play at a tryout than I do. So basically I want any advice you can give me and recommendations for stuff to play.

Shoot.
If they're the kind of people who can only read tabs but can do some crazy licks, just mention that.. I mean, it's for a school. They want you to know the theory.
"I don't understand how one can kill a man in the name of peace, that's ridiculous."
- JBT
The instructor though, he's not the brightest, if I said that, he'd just perceive it as me badmouthing the other guys. So I'll have to get through solely on my own merit. This isn't a strict jazz thing either, they play just about anything. So I more looking for good ways to impress the guy.
Don't be rude like, "Pick me, these idiots can't read a single note from a staff!"

Just explain what music background you have and play a simple jazz song and you'll look good for the position. :P
"I don't understand how one can kill a man in the name of peace, that's ridiculous."
- JBT