In a few hours I'm off to check out a second hand guitar and amp, I'm getting a really good deal on them, but I just wanna know some things I should be looking out for to make sure that everythings in good condition.

It's only my second electric and my second amp, so I have no experience in shopping for guitars really....so what should I be looking out for, and how can I check it? (This applies to the amp as well)

Thanks

It's a Fender Strat and a Marshall amp, I don't know what kind because the guy selling it never bothered to learn to play
Some people wait a lifetime, some simply accept...

...Some of us crash land, some of us eject...

...Some restore the blood flow, some just let it go and bleed...

...Some of us obsess, some move on to something new
Last edited by whatamidoinhere at Sep 9, 2007,
Firstly have you any idea of what you're buying...manufacturer, model, age etc?
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
Fender Strat and Marshall amp. OK...

Guitar:

Look down the neck, from the tuning head works best, and make sure it does not look warped. The neck should have a slight backbow, it should appear to "droop" slightly in the middle. This can be adjusted later, but you don't want it to look like a rocking chair. It should not be twisted though, that can only be repaired by replacing the neck.

Don't worry too much if the action is too low or high, too much backbow or not enough, chips in the nut, those can be repaired fairly easily and won't be too expensive. Watch for a twisted or obviously warped neck.