ive been playing for about 2 years now but am struggling to find tone and i feel that my playing sounds a little to sharp and aggressive however softly i try to play. i use a vintage advanced les paul type through a kustom high voltage amp with no effects. would i improve my sound by using effects, changing my pickups or by using better quality strings.
if you dont like me kiss my arss
I dont completely understand, what do you mean by agressive and sharp? Do you mean its loud when you pluck the strings ever so slightly?
"Guitarmen, wake up and pluck wire for sound, let 'em hear you play"
-Charlie Christian
"You have to give people something to dream on"
-Jimi Hendrix
"I try to make any guitar do what I want it to do"
-Slash
well, it's probably the amp. i'm reading up on it and it has 2 high gain settings and 2 clean settings, which doesn't seem like the tones you're after.

your best bet is to start saving up for another amp. and for the meantime, maybe up the bass a little, and cut back on the treble and gain. and keep your mids up.
Gibson SG Standard + 18volt EMG-81 & 85
Mesa/Boogie Mark IV + Recto 2x12
Keeley Modded BD-2
Vox V847a
Quote by one vision
Bureaucrats gonna crat.

Recognised by the Official EG/GG&A Who To Listen To List 2008
Quote by UnsignedRecords
well, it's probably the amp. i'm reading up on it and it has 2 high gain settings and 2 clean settings, which doesn't seem like the tones you're after.

your best bet is to start saving up for another amp. and for the meantime, maybe up the bass a little, and cut back on the treble and gain. and keep your mids up.

If I may add, if you are one who consistently uses the bridge pickup, use the neck, they tend to be quite nice and down to earth on ephiphone les pauls
"Guitarmen, wake up and pluck wire for sound, let 'em hear you play"
-Charlie Christian
"You have to give people something to dream on"
-Jimi Hendrix
"I try to make any guitar do what I want it to do"
-Slash