sorry, im new to metalcore music and i know its a pretty stupid question to post in the hardcore forum.
but i've been hearing the words breakdown for millions of times.
and i just wanna know what it is
Well to me it's another word for the bridge or break of a song, but you probably mean something else .
Quote by kriscornella2@g
I know i wish i was as cool as you and be into Sum 41 and Taking back Sunday. Gaylord.

Quote by civildp1
you should call one of the songs, "Respecting Old People" just to mix things up.

Quote by вяaи∂ иєw
You just made a very powerful enemy BenFoffenbock.
well after the second verse, before a solo, or after a solo, sometimes the band does what is called a breakdown, where they change the riff/feel of the song for a few measures. Its usually sudden and abrupt. Maybe all the instruments stop playing except the drums, or maybe the guitar with a new riff. This breaks the repetition of hearing the chorus/verse riff over and over. Then the songs usually build-up and explode back into the chorus 2 more times and then end the song.

Thats a breakdown in Structure terms, may be something else in hardcore music, but thats my guess.
Archdeacon of the Church of Zeppelinism
PM TheHeartbreaker to join

Highway One Telecaster (Upgrade)
Laney 30 Watt Combo
Boss ME-50 FX

horazonblade, you are one of the reasonable/intelligent people on this forum... - JewMasatFlex
A stop and go (chugging) Bridge with catchy pausing.
Originally posted by J_Dizzle
THAAAANK YOU GoodCharloteSux is god
its slowed-down part of the song with brutal and teared guitar soundings and simple drums part when bass drum actually doubles the guitar
for exampe, the ending of Hatebreed - Call Of Blood
світ втомився від вас
^ Truez. Was a quite good film considering, I mean, who honestly thought rednecks in the middle of nowhere would do that kind of stuff? I haven't seen that kind of southern insanity since The Texas Chainsaw Massacre. Needs to be more I think.
rites of nothing.