Recently, my Crybaby Classic has been making a crunching/crackling sound when in use. It kept getting worse until the crackles made it unusable with a clean amp. I came to UG and read some forums and discovered that the potentiometer had probably gone bad. Is the replacement of the pot something I will be able to do by myself? I have very little experience with such things, but I would like to learn. How do I replace the pot? And my final question...

Will a new pot last longer than the piece of **** pot that the pedal came with? (I've only had my pedal for about 6 months)
About how much is a really good replacement pot? I've seen HotPotz for $20, but I would like to get something better this time...
Only the wiring on my Strat, which was pretty basic. I've never done anything too precise though
Alright, last night I opened up the pedal to see what I was up against. It was virtually entirely PCB, but the pot was soldered into place and was very easy to remove. I purchased a new pot, and I'm sure putting it in will be just as easy as getting it out. However, when I removed the old pot, I found it to be covered with a thick toothpaste-like lubricant. Is something I will need to apply to the new pot?
Quote by zeppelin470
Alright, last night I opened up the pedal to see what I was up against. It was virtually entirely PCB, but the pot was soldered into place and was very easy to remove. I purchased a new pot, and I'm sure putting it in will be just as easy as getting it out. However, when I removed the old pot, I found it to be covered with a thick toothpaste-like lubricant. Is something I will need to apply to the new pot?

What kind of pot did you get? I suggested the Fulltone and the Blacktop because their taper is actually superior to a HotPotz. They just sound better.

The lubricant isn't necessary, not really, but I applied a graphite lubicrant in it place, when I accidentally removed it, when I modded my wah.