What's everyone's favorite distortion or overdrive pedal that you use? (If you use one at all, of course.)

I'm a beginner with an Epiphone Les Paul Standard and a Roland Microcube. The microcube is a cool little amp but I'd prefer to get a tube amp. A good tube amp is pretty pricey compared with the solid states available but with preliminary research I see a couple of decent-looking inexpensive tube amps, such as the Crate Palomino lineup an the Epiphone Valve Junior. I'm leaning toward the Epi VJ (half-stack setup) which looks to be only $250...it just looks prettier and I like that "half-stack" look. But with only one channel and one volume control it doesn't seem geared for distorted sounds, which is where a pedal would need to come in. So, I just wanted to see what everyone liked in terms of overdrive pedals. I'd prefer something on the higher-gain side of OD, but am open to anything that would be suitable for this setup.
i dont use many OD/dist pedals and mainly use the amp's distortion...
anyway, check out the keeley modded BD-2 for overdrive...

dont forget the TS-808 too, but for a cheaper work-alike try the maxon od808
Quote by tubab0y
Look at it this way- everyone rags on air guitar here because everyone can play guitar. If we were on a lawn mower forum, air guitar would be okay and they would ridicule air mowing.

^ for a lil bit more money you can get an OCD

oh btw get the palomino V8 amazing little amp
[IMG]http://img398.imageshack.us/img398/9148/dawhip005jf4.jpg[/IMG]

Quote by SuperSamuraiGuy
Thanks for answering all my question ssguitar

JCM900 FOR SELL!
my favorite is my custom made BYOC TS808 half-clone. it has its specs, but with some modifications. not to the extremes though. works awesome for me.
Call me "Shot".

ShotRod Guitar Works

Custom Hand-wired Amplifiers and Effect Pedals.

Est. 2007

Source to everything I say about Guitars, Pedals, and Amplifiers: I make them.

UG's Best DIY PedalBoard