Ahh I'm an acoustic newb. This was such a newb question, I had to ask it in here.

Anyways. I play electric guitar and I obviously alternate pick, and I rest my wrist on the bridge (I usually palm mute). Is this ok to rest on the acoustic bridge? I'm not muting any strings but it's much easier to pick faster.
you can do it, if you like the sound of it, obviously it wont have the clarity, and the higher strings prob wont come out much...so def practice without it
'I love her, but I love to fish...I'm gonna miss her"
Yes, although you may want to try just resting your pinky under the high e so you can pick a little closer to the sound hole (instead of resting your wrist on the bridge).
Ah! The misinformation in this thread is appalling!

TS, don't rest your palm on the bridge on either electric or acoustic, that's called anchoring, and it's bad. As for the pinky, that's even worse. Your hand must be fully floating in relation to the guitar.

Read

And in future, post all of your acoustic related questions in the acoustic forum, and we'll be glad to answer them
Quote by confusius

TS, don't rest your palm on the bridge on either electric or acoustic, that's called anchoring, and it's bad. As for the pinky, that's even worse. Your hand must be fully floating in relation to the guitar.

Read

And in future, post all of your acoustic related questions in the acoustic forum, and we'll be glad to answer them

I don't play much lead, but have been playin rhythm for about 4 years...so youre saying that even if you want to palm mute some notes, u still dont rest it and just keep the hand free?
Well, for palm muting you do need to, but otherwise it should be floating. Especially when doing any picking, string skipping, because it gives you much more arm freedom and takes off a lot of tension.
thanks, then I agree with you, although im still not very good at it lol