Hey guys, I want to start a discussion thread about 'making it' in the music industry. I am 20, and I've been playing guitar for 4 years and composing stuff. I want to get into the music industry, whether it be through a band, or in some other avenue that is involves rock music, as I am extremely passionate and knowledgeable about the world of rock/guitar.

I am sure many people feel the same way, but are just unsure of the possibilities or just don't know how to make the big jump from jamming in your room, to the big bad world of record labels, producers, managers, studios, etc. Let me pose some questions to start this thread:

-Who are the key players in forming a band (besides the actual band)
-How does one find and contact someone already in the industry?
-What are the smaller things a band can do to establish a name for themselves?
-What other jobs are available for one interested in rock (or metal, etc.)

Feel free to answer any questions or pose your own in this thread. I hope it succeeds!
Play towns that aren't yours. People don't give a **** about local bands, but if they're from "Over there", they're more likely to go see you.
Quote by vintage x metal
I love you =] I can't say I was very fond of you when we first started talking because you trolled the hell out of my threads, but after talking to you here I've grown very attached to you.

Yeah, write to my fanclub about it, honey.
its all in networking bro. Go out and meet people.

LTD EX-351
Peavey 5150 head
Marshall 1960A
Boss NS-2 Noise Supressor
BBE 482i Sonic Maximizer
Quote by Jack Off Jill
Play towns that aren't yours. People don't give a **** about local bands, but if they're from "Over there", they're more likely to go see you.